Accurate Info

Do you want a new option in AISBackup? Do you want an existing option enhanced? Ask here.
Post Reply
jwc
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 2:03 am

Accurate Info

Post by jwc »

I always backup to a DVD, but the program says CD. Is there a way to let it know I'm using a DVD and not a CD?

Image
Barry
Site Admin
Posts: 1523
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 3:16 pm

Status message

Post by Barry »

Which version of AISBackup are you using?

Barry
jwc
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 2:03 am

Post by jwc »

Using version 2.8.0.370

Just updated to version 2.8.0.378 today, and no change with that.
Barry
Site Admin
Posts: 1523
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 3:16 pm

CD/DVD display

Post by Barry »

The message sates DVD on the system here and what is also rather strange is the AISBackup main form is hidden during the mastering process, isn't it on your PC?

Please run AISBackup in CD debug mode and then e-mail the log file for this backup job (via the Help / Bug Report option.

To start CD debug mode make sure AISBackup has the focus (click the caption bar) and then press * until *** CD Debug Mode *** is displayed in the caption bar.

The message sates CD until a disc is actually loaded and used by AISBackup.

Barry
jwc
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 2:03 am

Post by jwc »

Yes, the main form is hidden when it's writing to the disk.

Do I do a dvd backup when in the debug mode, then copy report,
or just do it without running the backup?

The CD text stays on main display from start to finish when running a
dvd backup. (except when it's writing to disk)

I use dvd+rw if that would make a difference.
Barry
Site Admin
Posts: 1523
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 3:16 pm

Debug mode

Post by Barry »

Please put AISbackup into debug mode and then run the backup.

AISBackup has been checked with a DVD-RW and displays 'DVD', but only after the DVD has been loaded. Perhaps AISbackup should default to tha last disc type used?

AISBackup only changes CD to DVD after the DVD has been requested, the debug code should show if the DVD has been correctly detected.

Barry
jwc
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 2:03 am

Post by jwc »

I mailed the debug to bugreport@aiscl.co.uk
(it is a DVD+RW, not DVD-RW if that matters)
Barry
Site Admin
Posts: 1523
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 3:16 pm

Disc type

Post by Barry »

Hi
I did not receive the bug report, however the disc type was not been logged, it is now (in CD debug mode).

AISBackup has been updated to give a more generic message and maybe this is more suitable?

The update is not generally available yet, but you may download this version from:

http://www.aiscl.co.uk/dl.php?d=379

Please run in CD debug mode again and e-mail the bug report, this version logs the detected disc type.

Barry
jwc
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 2:03 am

Post by jwc »

Thanks Barry. Working on it now. BTW, I paused the backup, and it asked if I wanted a cpu scale, and I chose yes, but I don't like it there. How can I get rid of this scale just below the job window?

ps- never mind, got rid of it with a restore.
----------------------------------------------------
Just tried v (380) and it looks good with the combo "CD\DVD" labeling.
Can be any of the two types now :)

Also, I wanted to note that the writer window always got it perfect.
Image
berryna
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 7:25 am

Post by berryna »

no change with that.
nikkil
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 2:08 pm

Post by nikkil »

Hi jwc, are you still using AISBackup? Would be nice if you can share how you were able to resolve this.
You're never a loser until you quit trying. Image
Post Reply