Disk Image and emergency startup

Use this forum for help with AISBackup
hfoner

Disk Image and emergency startup

Post by hfoner »

I have been using aisbackup for many years and now want to use it to make a Disk Image on an external disk drive in case my hard disk crashes. I have Win XP +SP3 and version 3.0.0.410 of AISB. My hard disk is divided into C and D drives.

1. Is the "Backup PC" the procedure I need to use? Will it also do incremental backups to the whole PC? Reading the instructions it seems to do most or all that Norton Ghost, Macrium Reflect and Acronis do.

2. Can I make an emergency startup disk? The FAQ says I cannot for XP.
And if I can, I don't understand the bit about loading extra drivers and also if there are 2 alternatives to making the disk - one from AISB and one from Microsoft.

Sorry if I am being dense Barry, but AISB has developed so much that my poor brain can't see the wood for the trees sometimes.

Henry
nikkil

Post by nikkil »

And if I can, I don't understand the bit about loading extra drivers and also if there are 2 alternatives to making the disk - one from AISB and one from Microsoft.
Not sure but I think that's the design. Redundancy equals to being safe.
You're never a loser until you quit trying. Image
Barry
Site Admin

Backup and restore options

Post by Barry »

The Backup PC option is what you should select to make a backup that is suitable for disaster recovery, the backup is also suitable for any type of restore, for example if you accidentally delete or overwrite a file you may restore the previous version from the backup.

Some AISBackup users think that the copy option is suitable for disaster recovery as this gives a file for file snapshot of your PC, however a copy of your drive it is not really suitable for disaster recovery as it would be quite easy to copy a damaged version of your disk (e.g. after a virus infection but before you notice).