loop in disk closing

Use this forum for help with AISBackup
ourem

loop in disk closing

Post by ourem »

I've been using this program off and on for a few years now. Though it used to work fine with my zip drive, I have almost always had trouble saving to a rewriteable CD. In fact, there is no program that locks up my computer as much as this one. The most recent problem is that the first back up to a CD runs perfectly. Then the second time I try to do an incremental or session backup, it seems to go into a loop in the last phase ("read out" or something of the sort). The status bar goes across, then starts over again, with the time indicator increasing continuously. I finally have to force the program closed and inevitably have to shut down my computer by holding the on/off button down for 4 seconds - nothing else works.

The strange part is that, upon restarting the computer, the newly saved files are perfectly intact. That's great, but does nothing for the problem of my computer hanging. This happens whether I use the internal CD-RW/DVD-ROM drive on this Toshiba laptop, or use an external Iomega (Lite-on) DVD+-RW.
Barry
Site Admin

CD leadout hanging?

Post by Barry »

Which version of AISBackup and Windows are you using? There can be problems with an interface called ASPI and AISBackup provides an option to search the PC for alternative ASPI drivers using the Tools / Options / Troubleshoot CD/DVD Problems.

If you have not done already try upgrading to version 2.1 of AISBackup.

This page on our web-site may help:

http://www.aiscl.co.uk/FAQASPI.htm

Barry
ourem

Post by ourem »